Thankfulness: What You Should Be Truly Thankful For.

UnknownWhile Thanksgiving has already come and gone for this year I can’t help but think on that holiday’s tradition of sitting down at dinner and telling those around you what you’re thankful for. Many people say family, food to eat, and a roof over their head, but how many people simply say that without truly realizing how grateful they should be for these things and how easily they can be threatened?

Since my family fell on hard times these are things that I’ve truly been thankful for that which was mentioned above especially when my family has struggled to pay bills and necessity–as well as a lack of money–has driven us routinely to food banks. Struggling to maintain the very things that many people take unquestioningly for granted has taught me to appreciate the true value of them better than any lesson or book ever could. When I can no longer do many of the things that I’ve done in the past I’ve only grown more thankful for the things I do have; a family that looks out for me, a home that I can always go back to, and enough food that I don’t go hungry and every day I thank God that these things have not changed.

Even if people take for granted the things that they are thankful for it’s probably only because they’ve not had to live with the necessity of endlessly guarding them. But if it’s something that is truly of value to you then, no matter what the circumstance, it is what you should be truly thankful for.

Leave a Reply

